The Next Big Thing

I’m terrible about following up with memes (if you have followed me for long, you might recall another where I had to nominate ten other bloggers… I did it, but kind of forgot to let any of them know about it… so, yeah, that didn’t work so well), but a friend (JQ Trotter – a YA writer who blogs here) nominated me, and I thought it would be fun to respond. So here goes! Thanks for the kick in the pants, JQ!

Though I just released Through a Dusty Window and it’s hard to switch gears and think about anything else, I do have several works in progress. I’m going to talk about one of them instead.

What is the working title of your book?

Right now it’s “Samantha’s Solace” – not my favorite. Hey, if you have suggestions after reading this, feel free to comment!

Where did the idea for the book come from?

It’d be nice to have a pat answer for that… from the swirling miasma of my lunatic brain? I guess I got thinking about my kids, and how much responsibility they are, but how loving a tiny person can teach you so much about yourself. I wanted to see what would happen if younger people were prematurely forced into that kind of responsibility/love and then asked to deal with the difficulties that come along with being a teenager anyway.

What genre does your book fall under?

It’s a young adult romance novella.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Huh. Hadn’t thought about that. I have heard a lot of writers say that they picture their entire book as a movie as they’re writing it, and I guess that might help with setting scenes… but I actually think that writing affords us so much more freedom. Screen is somewhat two dimensional. The written word gives us the opportunity to explore every dimension (and to make up new ones!) I guess I don’t like to think of writing as I would a movie because the writers that I idolize certainly didn’t have that opportunity (Fitzgerald, Hemingway…)

BUT, to answer the question.

The protagonist is Samantha. She’s a senior in high school, living with her father. She’s recently come through a difficult situation at home, which I will not spoil by telling  you here. Suffice it to say, she is now part of a much smaller family than she was one month prior to the book’s opening. As a result, she’s somewhat withdrawn, depressed, not very outwardly focused. I picture her kind of like this…kstewart

Ha. No, just kidding.

 

 

 

 

 

Maybe more like… Britt Robertson… kind of appealing in that not-overly-confident girl next door kinda way.

Britt+Robertson+Fashion+Night+Out+Macy+Herald+lTMrnofYsFTl

 

 

 

 

 

 

As for Brandon, our love interest…

mikel_alonso

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay, he’s not an actor. He’s a soccer player… Mikel Alonso. But seriously, this is exactly what I picture Brandon to look like.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

When life is turned upside down for seventeen year old Samantha Tisch, she finds an unexpected kindred spirit in new kid Brandon Honig; but is he keeping a dark secret?

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Keep in mind that it’s a novella, and that I tend to write pretty fast. So once I’d plotted it out, it took about 10 hours, I think.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

It would be great to have a good answer for this. I will do some research… the romance novella is kind of an up and coming genre, thanks to ebooks, especially in YA. In more general YA, I’d compare it to John Green’s The Fault in our Stars. And not in any way because I compare myself to him. Just in feeling…

Who or what inspired you to write this book?   

I don’t know. Is that a good answer? I have ideas and I write them. Kind of just keeps happening…

What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

You mean this isn’t enough? Do I need to show you the picture of Mikel Alonso again? 😉

Time to tag some other blogging writers…

Hopefully I’ll remember to tell them about it.

Rachel Abbott
Adrian J. Walker

Francis Guenette

 

2 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. I think it’s hard to try and think of my writing as a movie, too. It is restraining, so figure out the actors for mine took ages. Your story sounds really interesting! And ten hours? Wow.

  2. Pingback: The Next Big Thing « disappearinginplainsight

Leave a Reply

