Visit with Lauren Blakely – NYT and USA Today Bestselling Author!

I’m super excited today to be hosting a new idol of mine. She’s a self-publishing phenomenon and a mom. I was so excited to meet her over at Goodrreads (if you’re writing books and you’re not using Goodreads, GO. NOW. Wait, no, read this first, and then go!)

Read on to learn more about Lauren, author of Caught Up in Us and the sequel – Pretending He’s Mine (releasing on Friday!)

caughtupinusHow has the success of Caught Up in Us changed your life? 
My pets now have more respect for me 🙂 But seriously, I’m simply delighted that readers seem to be enjoying Kat and Bryan’s story, and I’m grateful that enough readers enjoyed it that I’ve been able to write a second novel in the series! And, I was able to turn down some work on the ghostwriting/day job side of my life so I can devote more time to novel writing, so that’s a good thing in my view!

What inspired you to write New Adult romance? 
NA is a genre that readers are truly embracing and driving right now, and with good reason. Romance is something that, frankly, most of us like! And I think new adult romance is tapping into the time when we are all trying to figure out what we want in life and love. NA, more than any other genre, is leading the charge with these new explorations of love in the modern age, and readers are clearly saying they want more. I’m a natural fan of romance, so I wanted to write something that would resonate with this passionate group of readers.

What do readers have to look forward to in Pretending He’s Mine?
Ooh! My favorite subject! I’m really excited about this book because it features scenes with Kat, Bryan and Jill from Caught Up In Us, but also introduces a new couple to readers in Reeve & Sutton. Their relationship and their challenges are different from those of Kat & Bryan – I like to say that while Caught Up In Us was about falling in love, Pretending He’s Mine is about “falling in like.” One of my early readers described Pretending He’s Mine as “sexy with some sweet thrown in!” It’s a bit edgier, but a lot of fun, in my view.

How do you keep it all together, managing kids and writing? (I have ulterior motives here… I struggle handling my own life, let along dealing with running a home, managing two small boys and a “real’ job!)
I installed an intravenous line that pumps caffeine into me 24 hours a day! But seriously. I am naturally a fast writer, so that helps. I also love books and the whole writing community from bloggers to other authors, so the “marketing” side of this is just so fun to me. And then, when it’s time to pick up the kids and take them to their activities, you just have to shut it down for a few hours and play the mom!

What are you working on next?

I’m working on a few projects, some of which I can’t talk about yet, but hope to share details soon! I do plan on writing Jill’s story in the Caught Up In Us series and want to release it in the summer.

Thanks so much for your time, Lauren! I wish you the best with your next release, and can’t wait to read it!

Find out more about Lauren Blakely and her books at her blog!

Leave a Reply

