Always Waiting

So, as usual, I find myself waiting for some things to happen. And this is the clear difference between self publishing and working with a publisher — even an indie publisher. A lot of things are out of my control. That could actually be a good thing. I benefit from the wisdom of those who produce books for a living (rather than from my own experience of having read a hell of a lot about it and actually done it once). But as a person who has, on occasion, been described as a control freak, this is hard. I wait for edits to be requested, I wait for feedback on revisions. I wait for the day the cover is revealed to the world, I wait for the book to hit Goodreads so I can start actually promoting it (no, not yet.) And in the midst of feeling like something so important to me is so far out of my control, I realized something: It doesn’t help to worry about this.

Instead, it’s time to focus on the things that I CAN control. (Yeah, I’m forty, and I have learned this lesson HOW Many times??? Shut up.) And those things include: trying to be a nice person so my whole family doesn’t hate me. (when I’m stressed about things that are out of my control, I have a habit of being just the teensiest bit tough to live with. Ahem.); WRITING — it’s easy to get wrapped up in focusing on the thing that is almost done, instead of on the thing that I’m meant to do. And I’ve got lots of half-done and in-progress things to keep me busy.

I’ll be honest here, too… the contract aspect of publishing is stressful. There’s been a lot of back and forth on that, and we’re still agreeing and disagreeing on things, though it will work out fine. But until the thing is signed, I don’t know exactly what limits may or may not be placed on the other things I’m working on and where they might be able to go. But again – out of my control to some degree. I have to trust the agent to listen to my concerns and work with the publisher for the best deal.

And in the meantime, I feel like Through a Dusty Window is just kind of hanging out there… there’s a blog tour for that book coming up in a couple weeks, so it’s time to focus on that again for a while. So that’s what I’ll be up to this week. What are you doing?

3 thoughts on “Always Waiting

  1. Taking way too long to build this author platform thing when all I want to do is be writing on the sequel to Disappearing in Plain Sight. Impatient in my own ways, so hear where you are coming from for sure.

  2. I agree with you a 100%, it doesn’t help to worry about things that are out of your control. Though, it’s harder to actually do that. I’m about to start the query process again so I’ll be waiting a lot, too. But I’m also participating in WriteOnCon’s Pitch Fest, which is fun and only a week long so there’s not a whole lot of waiting involved in that.

    Have fun on your blog tour and good luck with Men & Martinis!

  3. I have read about Indies, such as Amanda Hocking, who have gotten traditional contracts after their books have been a hit, and they love that everything else is taken care of for them and they can concentrate on what they love most, and that is writing their next book. For them, the amount of work being Indi was so overwhelming, that leaving those details to others was nice. So I guess that it has its pros.

Leave a Reply

