Blogger Book Fair! Meet Author M. Pax!

for printM. Pax is author of the sci-fi series, The Backworlds, and the new adult science fiction fantasy The Renaissance of Hetty Locklear. A Browncoat and SG fan, she’s also slightly obsessed with Jane Austen. In the summers she docents as a star guide at Pine Mountain Observatory where the other astronomers now believe she has the most extensive collection of moon photos in existence. No fear, there will be more next summer. She lives in stunning Central Oregon with the Husband Unit and two lovely, spoiled cats.

Website / FB / Twitter / Goodreads

M. Pax was kind enough to answer my not-so-run-of-the-mill author questions…

In what part of the country do you live? From what part do you originate?

Migrating to the left coast fifteen years ago, I discovered I love the wilds of Oregon. Who knew? Not me. I grew up in the northeast and hyperventilated at the thought of being more than a half hour’s drive from an Estee Lauder counter. I grew up in the land of chicken wings and have also lived in the Big Apple and DC.

Do you have siblings? Where do you fall in the pecking order and do you think it’s influenced your life?

A mysterious pack were the four of we. We would have made a great kids’ adventure, two boys, two girls. I’m the second oldest and the oldest girl, which gave my sister a Jan complex for awhile for no other reason other than she was younger.

How did you meet your best friend?

Oh, it was interesting. I thought for sure it was dating faux pas #238. I hit Husband Unit’s car. Odd–it turned out to be love at first sight.

When did you begin writing?

Library day was my favorite when I was young. My mother took us every week. Oh, the treasures I found! I couldn’t help but begin inventing my own stories.

What has surprised you most about the process of being published?

It’s as much of a thrill as I’d imagined. Everyday my eyes widened. “Wow, I’m doing this!”

Is writing your “day job”?

Writing is what I love most. I turn into a troll-like thing with a bad attitude and temper if I don’t write regularly.

What Jelly Belly flavor is your favorite?

I lurves black licorice.

If you sat down at a bar at this moment, what would you order to drink?

Who’s the bartender? A nice smile can talk me into something adventuresome. If not, a beer or a vodka tonic.

What was the last book you finished?

Ocean of Dust by Graeme Ing. It was really, really good. I highly recommend it.

What has been your favorite writing project to work on?

I love all of them – short stories, novels, space opera, more girlie stuff, fantasy. I can’t help but put some weird in them all.

Are there any characters – yours or another author’s – that have stayed in your head after you’ve finished their book?

Anne of Green Gables definitely did… for so many years. All of Jane Austen’s characters. Margaret George’s definitely. Ice-nine is always in my head, and my characters are always making faces at me.

What performance would you drop everything to see if it came to your town? (Band, artist, opera, ballet, whatever…)

Elvis Costello. If he sang the phone directory, I’d swoon.

Give us a couple of your favorite lines from your WIP…

Working title is Omens at Dawn, a fantasy.

“You have the eyes of a tar pit, and I think the soul to match, Clair,” Hush said. “When I ask my favor, I expect no balking. If I ask you for your first born, you’ll give her to me.”

“Takes a spirit born of tar to know another,” Edelaide replied, finding flickers of gentleness in his aura that belied his blunt words. “I’ll not renege.”

He mashed his bleeding hand against the cut on hers, introducing her to his full strength and the force of his virility. It made her sway.

His smirk came back. “I’m glad to discover you’re a woman with some taste after all.”

The Renaissance of Hetty Locklear. By M. Pax. On sale! 99 cents!renaissancehettyfinalWB

The journey into adulthood is stranger than she expects.

Graduation from community college isn’t the magic elixir Hetty Locklear counts on for becoming an adult. Her parents, who work the Renaissance fair circuit, insist she spend part of the summer with them. Hetty doubts pretending to live in the Middle Ages will help her find her way.

To make it worse, an entity haunts her at her dead-end job, warning her of a dangerous man she doesn’t know. The ghost leads her to a lover who has a lot of secrets. He pulls her farther into peril and into a strange, hidden world of genetic experimentation.

New Adult Science Fiction Fantasy.

Amazon / Amazon UK / Smashwords / Kobo / B&N / Other Outlets and formats

 She’s also giving away ten ebooks – enter here!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

