Blogger Book Fair: Meet Author Alexandria Rhodes

Today I’m thrilled to introduce you to author Alexandria Rhodes!

About Alexandria:

Alexandria Rhodes is a first time novelist from the good old state of Ohio. She is a recent college graduate with a degree in English and Creative Writing. Alexandria has always known she needed to write and has been doing so ever since she bought a typewriter at a garage sale when she was nine. With hundreds of pages of plot ideas, scripts and character descriptions, it is no surprise that she finally came around to writing a book.

Alexandria enjoys reading, writing, reviewing, spending time with family, tweeting (a little too much) and traveling, especially to Savannah, GA and New York City. Her writing is heavily influenced by her surroundings and the people in her life. She hopes that her stories will touch the hearts of her readers.

Here’s the skinny on Alexandria’s recent book, More Than You Know

rhodesAfter surviving a devastating car accident that took her father’s life, Bryn Woods feels like she has nothing left in her hometown of Savannah, GA. Along with losing her father, her boyfriend, Tyler, unexpectedly leaves town the same time of the accident. Feeling alone, broken and confused, Bryn leaves Savannah for college in New York City to escape her heartbreak.

Four years later, Bryn returns to Savannah to live in her childhood home. Slowly, she begins to let the people of her past back into her life. She lets the protective walls she’s built to protect herself crash down around her. As she begins to find love again with Tyler, secrets start to unravel themselves about his past. Tyler has secrets of his own. Secrets connected to the death of Bryn’s father. Secrets Tyler didn’t even know he kept.

Alexandria answered a few questions for us:

In what part of the country do you live? From what part do you originate?

I live in Ohio. I’ve lived here my entire life, only moving a couple of times when I was younger. I like this state, however, I feel I was meant to live in NYC sometimes!

Do you have siblings? Where do you fall in the pecking order and do you think it’s influenced your life?

I have one younger brother. I always call him my little brother accidently but he will be 21 this year! I am the oldest and I think it has influenced my life in the sense that I take control of my life and do things on my own. I’m independent and very responsible.

When did you begin writing?

When I could start spelling and putting words together. I’ve always needed to write. I wrote plays growing up for my parents and would act them out (usually making my brother do it, too, hehe). When I was younger, we went to a garage sale and I bought a typewriter. I remember sitting in my room determined  to write the next best novel… at the age of twelve! LOL. Needless to say, it didn’t happen but through high school and college, I was always daydreaming and thinking of plots.

What has surprised you most about the process of being published?

How much time you spend researching and the money you put out to make sure everything is perfect. Luckily, I was able to do a lot of formatting and marketing on my own. I had a lot of lucky help with editing as well. But I never realized just how much went into publishing.

Is writing your “day job”? If not, what else do you do?

I wish it was! Someday, I hope to have a job where I am writing all day. For now, I work part time with kids.

What Jelly Belly flavor is your favorite?

The coffee flavored one! It’s delicious. Or, apple.

If you sat down at a bar at this moment, what would you order to drink?

An amaretto sour for sure. Or, an iced tea.

What was the last book you finished?

The next forever. The last amazing book I finished was Hopeless by Colleen Hoover.

What has been your favorite writing project to work on?

More Than You Know was a lot of fun to work on. I enjoyed researching and when I was in Savannah, I was able to picture my characters where I wanted them to be. Like Crazy is so much different than my first book. It’s lighthearted and really fun. I find myself laughing when reading, which, might just be me!

Are there any characters – yours or another author’s – that have stayed in your head after you’ve finished their book?

Yes, Bryn, of course from More Than You Know but especially Olivia and Charlotte from that book as well. I’m considering looking into their story more and seeing where it takes me in writing.

Give us a couple of your favorite lines from your WIP…

Emma:

“Sorry I had to kiss your boyfriend,” I joked, having a feeling that had crossed her mind. She was going to have to watch another girl kiss her boyfriend in not one, but four different scenes. I felt for the girl.

Will:

I shook my head. “I’m just afraid that if you go through those gates and get on that plane that I will never…”

“Babe, don’t do this. It’s us. We are meant for each other. No matter what we’ll be together. No amount of distance will change that. Besides, you have an awesome internship opportunity at MBC news. You’re meant to be here.”

“So are you. You’re meant to be here with me,” I said, pulling our hands to my chest, directly over my heart. “Listen, you want to do something crazy with me, Emma? Let’s start our lives together today. Let’s skip all of this and start over. I don’t know what our lives will turn out to be but I know that my future needs you in it. I choose us,” I paused, gathering the strength to ask her a question I already knew the answer to. “What do you choose?”

Stalk Alexandria Rhodes here:

https://www.facebook.com/morethanyouknowbook

https://www.facebook.com/AlexandriaLRhodes

http://www.twitter.com/A_L_Rhodes

http://www.alexandriarhodes.com

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6997621.Alexandria_Rhodes

Buy More Than You Know here!

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

