Validation of My White Trash Roots

I have a feeling my mother will take offense at this title… I didn’t actually come up from white trash (although – does anyone who genuinely falls into this category believe that they are white trash? So maybe we are, Mom. Maybe we are…) Though since both my parents are pretty well-educated and made a point of ensuring that my brother and I valued things like travel and tax-planning… I’m thinking we’re not. ANYWAY, none of that is the point of this post. Damn, I get off topic easily. No wonder I can’t finish the book I’m working on.

The point of this post is simple: BOXED WINE.

I joined in a Facebook chat last night with some authorial types to promote Melanie Harlow‘s awesome upcoming book Frenched. And there were slanderous words bandied about (yes, that’s right, they were being bandied I tell you!) And these harsh and derogatory words had to do with something close to my heart. Boxed wine.

You know that I write about wine a fair bit. The Wine Country Romance series is my special little literary gift to the world (yes, this is sarcastic)… but I was a wine writer for a time and I sold wine for a French importer. (so I know just enough to be obnoxious, my husband says). And one of the things that I know — and pay attention because there are not many — is that sealing wine in a bag (inside your box) is a great way to avoid many of the problems that affect bottled wine (cork taint, for one, which affects 10% of bottles). Or as Forbes.com so succinctly put it:

boxed wine stays fresh a minimum of four weeks, it’s shatter-proof, portable, will never have cork taint, and is more environmentally conscious. In fact the total energy used to produce one box is about 1/3 the energy required to produce a glass bottle, leaving a carbon footprint one-half the size that of a wine bottle.

Now add to that the fact that many well-respected producers are putting wine in boxes, and it just plain makes sense. Forget that there are four bottles in one box and pay no attention to the simple glee that comes from pouring yourself a glass of wine from a little handy-dandy spout… Boxed wine can be darned good. Forget the Franzia and Gallo… we’ve moved on and if you’re not on board, I say you’re missing the boat.

Check out the Black Box wines – Chardonnay is decent and the Shiraz is pretty good. The old Bonny Doon Big House wines are in boxes now… I keep a box of Big House White around through the summer months as a rule. Anyway, no need to take my word… there are plenty of other people extolling the virtues of the box. Check it out.

So as I sit here, sipping a glass of fresh-from-the-box, I make a simple plea: Stop marginalizing boxed wine. Especially if you haven’t tried one in a while.

Thanks. 🙂 Cheers.

One thought on “Validation of My White Trash Roots

  1. Thanks for a new blog read!! So I guess we’ve been way ahead of the craze all this time, huh?
    who knew? Just thought it was “good-enough” for the horse show gaming…..and easy to carry up the hill!!

Leave a Reply

